UFC Vet Dongi Yang Returns to Action, Headlines Inaugural Top FC Show in Seoul

June 27, 2013

Dongi Yang vs. Rob Kimmons - UFCKorean middleweight Dongi Yang returns to action for the first time since being released by the UFC when he takes on compatriot Jae Young Kim in the main event of Top FC 1 – Original.

Top FC is a newly founded promotion. Its first show is set for the Olympic Gymnastics Arena in Seoul on Saturday night. It is organized by Korean Top Team head coach Ha Dongjin and features a number of fighters from that camp.

Yang (10-3) was cut by the UFC after dropping a decision to Brad Tavares last May and has not fought since. He is making his comeback against Kim (14-10), a Road FC veteran who has been in with the likes of Melvin Manhoef, Denis Kang and Hector Lombard.

The card at Top FC 1 – Original is notable for the number of fighters on it making their comebacks with Jong Man Kim (22-11-3) returning to action for the first time since 2010. He holds a win over Hatsu Hioki and will be taking on highly touted Korean Top Team prospect Seung Hwa Han (2-2).

Also returning after a prolonged absence is Seung Hwan Bang (15-7). He hasn’t fought since 2010, but is a Sengoku and Deep veteran who has been in with the likes of Takanori Gomi and Jorge Masvidal. He is taking on Joo Dong Hwang (3-4) in a lightweight match-up.

The other notable match-up on the ten-fight card, which contains a number of debutants and up-and-coming young local fighters, pits light heavyweights Haejung Yang (9-4) and Doo Wan Kim (3-1) against each other.

In a conversation with MMAWeekly.com, the man behind Top FC, Ha Dongjin, confirmed that his promotion would be using a ring rather than a cage and that there were plans to put on regular cards in Korea in the future.

Top FC 1 – Original
Olympic Gymnastics Arena
Seoul, South Korea
Saturday, June 29, 2013

Dongi Yang vs. Jae Young Kim
Joo Dong Hwang vs. Seung Hwan Bang
Doo Hwan Kim vs. Haejun Yang
Jong Man Kim vs. Sung Hwa Han
Han Seul Kim vs. Young Joon Jun
Bum Chan Kang vs. Jung Su Kim
Yong Nam Gu vs. Jae Woong Kim
Min Gu Lee vs. Gi Young Nam
Michael Ahn vs. Sung Hwa Jo
Han Bin Park vs. Soo Chul Lee