UFC reveals 2022 Submission of the Year nominees: Cast your vote

Toyo Tires presents the 2022 UFC Honors Submission of the Year nominees. Make your selection by voting in the Community tab on the UFC YouTube channel or on other UFC social channels.

Four athletes were nominated in the category: Islam Makhachev, Jessica Andrade, Jiri Prochazka, and Zhang Weili.

Makhachev scored a second-round submission win over the all-time leader in submission finishes in UFC history, Charles Oliveira, at UFC 280 in October to capture the lightweight championship. Andrade locked up a standing arm-triangle choke against Amanda Lemos at UFC Vegas 52 in April. Prochazka stopped Glover Teixeira at UFC 275 in June to win the 205-pound title. Weili, who is also nominated in the category of Knockout of the Year, submitted Carla Esparza at UFC 281 in November to become a two-time strawweight titleholder.

2022 UFC Submission of the Year Nominees Video

(Video Courtesy of UFC)

Sean Strickland takes issue with many of the Stephen Bonnar social media tributes