UFC Fight Night 68 Fighter Bonuses: Ortega vs. Tavares Leads Record-Setting Night

The Ultimate Fighting Championship returned to New Orleans on Saturday night for UFC Fight Night 68: Boetsch vs. Henderson.

To say that the fighters on the card made it difficult for officials to determine post-fight award winners would be an understatement. Of the 12 bouts, 10 of them were finishes. Seven of those were of the first-round variety, tying a UFC record for most first-round finishes.

The Fight of the Night was probably the easiest decision for UFC brass, who awarded the honor to Brian Ortega and Thiago Tavares.

RELATED > UFC Fight Night 68: Boetsch vs. Henderson Fight Coverage

Brian Ortega stops Thiago TavaresOrtega and Tavares took the fight to each other, the momentum flowing back and forth. To stress how close it was, the three judges were split after two rounds, with one judge scoring it 20-18 for Ortega, another 20-18 for Tavares, and the third had it even at 19-19.

Not wanting to leave it to the judges, Ortega took the fight to Tavares in the final frame. He dropped Tavares with a punch combination, followed him to the canvas, and finished by raining down punches for the TKO stoppage.

Narrowing down all the finishers to two Performance of the Night winners had to have been a difficult task, but those honors eventually went to Shawn Jordan and Dustin Poirier.

Jordan fought a tough first round with Derrick Lewis, but in the second, he surprisingly landed a hook kick to the head that sent Lewis reeling. Jordan quickly followed and finished with a flurry of punches.

A Louisiana native, Poirier took the fight to Yancey Medeiros from the opening bell, dropping him early with a stiff right hand. Medeiros was game and continued to fight back, but Poirier continued to outstrike him, forcing him to crumple up against the cage.

Though Medeiros was still standing, the referee eventually had seen enough and stepped in to save him from being too tough for his own good, as Poirier continued to pummel him with punches.

Each of the award winners will receive a $50,000 bonus.

Follow MMAWeekly.com on FacebookTwitter and Instagram