Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

UFC 159 Results: Michael Bisping Dominates En Route to Technical Decision After Eye Poke

Posted on by Ken Pishna

Michael Bisping - UFC on Fox 2There was a lot of trash talk leading up to Michael Bisping and Alan Belcher’s fight at UFC 159 on Saturday night in New Jersey. Come fight time, however, all the talk was tucked away and out came the leather.

There couldn’t have been a more stark contrast to each man’s approach to the fight.

Belcher immediately looked to establish his power punches, while Bisping utilized superior movement, hand speed, and technique.

Bisping established control of the fight straight away with punches in bunches, and then slipping out of the way whenever Belcher would attempt to take his head off.

And Bisping only stepped up the strategy as the fight wore on and Belcher wore down. Every time Belcher would swing for the fences, it left him open for Bisping’s speedy counters, and “the Count” took advantage every time.

By the third round, Belcher was exhausted, frequently dropping his hands down to his sides.

Despite Bisping’s control of the fight, the victory came in a less-than-satisfying manner when an errant eye poke to his surgically repaired right eye left Belcher unable to continue.

The judges scored the fight 30-27, 30-27, and 29-28, a technical decision due to the injury stoppage in the final round.

“My apologies to Alan,” said Bisping after the fight, despite all the trash talk in the lead-up. “He’s a hell of a competitor and thanks for being a worthy opponent. I hit him with some power shots and he took them well.”

(Follow @KenPishna on Twitter)

Be sure to Like MMAWeekly.com on Facebook and Follow @MMAWeeklycom on Twitter.

  • http://twitter.com/julianmoranart julian moran

    Bisping moved in and out with punches, while Belcher stood still striking. That was the difference.

    I am surprised the decision was not a no contest, as the fight ended to a illegal eye poke

    • http://twitter.com/Uncanny390 Timothy Malone

      As long as there have been two rounds already, they go to the judges. And it was unintentional so no DQ.

  • shakejunt

    bisping vs yushin?