September 18, 2007

by Joe Pawlus (Photos courtesy of Thomas Michael Rozdzynski)
HAMMOND, IND. – Although Total Fight Challenge 10 was promoted as Legend Versus Legend, the interim heavyweight title fight between Jeff Neal and Vaughn Palelei never happened. Palelei apparently tripped on one of his kids’ toys at home and injured his ankle. He showed up to the Civic Center with a cast and crutches. Jeff Neal was justifiably disappointed.

He did not, however, go home empty handed. The Total Fight Challenge promoters named Neal the current, Interim Heavyweight Champion. It is unlikely that these two will ever meet in the cage, but Neal appeared ready to fight and now holds the belt. This gives the opportunity for any heavyweight contenders to challenge Neal for his crown.

Saturday’s event featured nineteen fights and all the other bouts happened according to plan. Although there were only a handful of matches that made it out of the first round, there were a few notables.

Eric Rasmussen and Josh Shockley went to war in what turned out to be the fight of the night. Wesley English put on a show as he repeatedly slammed his opponent, Derrek Allen, to the mat. Billy Stamp eked out a victory over Brian Fielder in an explosive confrontation.

The surprise of the evening came by way of Jim Martins knocking out resilient and seasoned fight veteran Bill Hill for the light heavyweight title.

Total Fight Challenge puts on an exciting and professional show. It remains one of the local crown jewels for the sport of MMA in the Chicago-land area.

TFC will be back at the Hammond Civic Center in February 2008.

Saturday, Sept. 15
Hammond Civic Center
Hammond, Ind.

Light Heavyweight Title Bout
Jim Martins def. Bill Hill by KO (Punch) at 4:41, R1

Lightweight Title Bout
Kyle Watson def. Kevin English by Submission (Triangle Choke) at 1:42, R2

Featherweight Title Bout
Charles Wilson def. Joe Pearson by Submission (Triangle Choke) at 4:44, R2

Eric Rasmussen vs. Josh Shockley – Draw (19-19)
Wesley English def. Derrick Allen by Submission (Head Lock Choke) at 4:23, R1
Billy Stamp def. Brian Fielder by Unanimous Decision (30-27)
Matt Thorkristufek def. Roberto Ramirez by TKO (Due to Strikes) at 2:45, R1
Nate Aye def. Eliot Ramirez by TKO (Due to Strikes) at 1:33, R2
Jeremy Morrison def. Rick Kraus by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 3:18, R1
Keith Smetana def. Whitney Waddell by TKO at 1:03, R1
Brandon Munson def. Jake Ambrose by TKO (Knee to Body) at 1:00, R1
Jim Peterson def. Dennis Bixean by TKO (Due to Strikes) at 4:45, R1
Joe Alexander def. Steve Shafer by TKO (Due to Strikes) at 3:50, R1
Barry Coeker def. Matt Odenell by TKO (Due to Strikes) at1:06, R1
Charles Biddle def. Josh Blanco by KO at 1:46, R1
Jared McMahn def. Matt Singleton by Submission (Guillotine) at 0:55, R1

Chase Green def. Cyrus Washington by Unanimous Decision (30-27)