by Ricardo Mendoza – MMAWeekly.com
Strikeforce held its latest show on Saturday night at the San Jose Civic Auditorium, where it gave young, up-and- coming fighters a chance to shine. Titled “Young Guns” the show was full of fighters making their MMA debuts or having less then a couple of fights under their belt. All the fights were 3 minutes per round and three rounds per bout since there were no title fights. A couple of Strikeforce veterans were on the card as they looked to get themselves back on the next big Strikeforce show, which is scheduled to occur sometime this spring.

Elaina Maxwell was looking to get a win after losing a tough decision to Gina Carrano at Strikeforce: Triple Threat, in fight that many in attendance considered to be the fight of the night. She took on newcomer Michelle Mayer and to the surprise of many fans, Mayer was able to pull off the upset and defeat Maxwell by unanimous decision. Maxwell never got a chance to get going as Mayer was on her for the majority of the fight and went home with the well-deserved victory.

In the main event, Cung Le student Jose Palacios won a well-deserved unanimous decision over Miguel Linares. Palacios was the better fighter on the feet as he tagged Linares on the feet with shots. Linares was able to get takedowns in all three rounds but was unable to keep Palacios down on the ground. Towards the end of the fight, Palacios almost finished off Linares on the ground with strikes but Linares was able to survive until the end of the fight.

Strikeforce: Young Guns
February 10, 2007
San Jose Civic Auditorium

Juan Alcain defeated Mario Rivera by unanimous decision
Alvin Cacdac defeated Bobby Shanchez with a heel hook at 1:45 of the 2nd round
Andrew Montanez defeated David Smith by unanimous decision
Yohan Banks defeated Joey Beltran by unanimous decision
Billy Evangelista defeated Isaiah Hill by TKO at 1:39 of the 1st round
Nik Theotikos defeated Devin Johnson by TKO at 0:11 of the 1st round
Michelle Mayer defeated Elaina Maxwell by unanimous decision
Chris Cariaso defeated Andrew Valladerez by unanimous decision
Jose Palacios defeated Miguel Linares by unanimous decision