by Ken Pishna – MMAWeekly.com
Roy Nelson proved his position as a favorite on “The Ultimate Fighter: Heavyweights,” making his way to Saturday’s final bout with a strong performance on Wednesday night’s final episode of the regular season. Competing against him for a UFC contract and the designation of the next Ultimate Fighter is Brendan Schaub, who was also successful on Wednesday night.

Nelson used the same strategy on semi-finalist James McSweeney as he did to defeat Kimbo Slice, only to a much more brutal effect this time. McSweeney was doing well in the stand-up game… until he ate a heavy right hand that rocked him.

Nelson then took McSweeney down, pinned his arms from side control, and finished him with a steady stream of strikes, leaving his face a bloody mess.

Schaub took the last step to the final by defeating fellow National Football League (NFL) veteran Marcus Jones. He caught Jones early with a punch then found himself having to scrap his way up off the mat from underneath Jones. Once the fight was back on the feet, Schaub dropped Jones with a right cross, followed him down, and finished with a flurry of punches on the mat for the TKO stoppage.

McSweeney defeated Matt Mitrione in the quarterfinals earlier on Wednesday night to get the shot at Nelson. He finished Mitrione with a guillotine choke in the opening round.

Jones fought his way into the semi-final by dominating Darrill Schoonover, scoring a TKO stoppage via a brutal ground and pound assault.

In a post-fight interview on air, Jones openly contemplated hanging up his gloves, but it was later announced that he would fight Matt Mitrione at Saturday’s finale at The Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas.

-Roy Nelson (13-4) vs. Brendan Schaub (4-0)
-Jon Jones (9-0) vs. Matt Hamill (6-2)
-Frankie Edgar (10-1) vs. Matt Veach (11-0)
-Kimbo Slice (3-1) vs. Houston Alexander (9-4)
-Brian Stann (7-2) vs. Rodney Wallace (9-0)
-Dennis Hallman (41-12-2) vs. John Howard (12-4)
-Mark Bocek (7-2) vs. Joe Brammer (7-0-1)
-Marcus Jones (4-1) vs. Matt Mitrione (0-0)
-James McSweeney (3-4) vs. Darrill Schoonover (10-0)
-Justin Wren (6-1) vs. Jon Madsen (2-0)