by MMAWeekly.com
Known for fight cards that range from astonishing to puzzling, Pride FC announced many of the fighters, but not the matchups, for their New Year’s Eve Shockwave event. And it is safe to say that the list of fighters so far falls into the astonishing category.

The names released by Pride so far include heavyweight champion Fedor Emelianenko, Open Weight Grand Prix champion Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic, middleweight titleholder Wanderlei Silva, welterweight champ Dan Henderson, lightweight belt-holder Takanori Gomi, Middleweight Grand Prix champion Mauricio “Shogun” Rua, Josh Barnett, Hidehiko Yoshida, Mark Hunt, Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira, and Kazuyuki Fujita,

It appears that Pride is ready to pull out all the stops for Shockwave and for good reason. After having lost their TV deal earlier this year with Fuji TV, such a star-studded card could help the promotion in securing a new deal, at least on a short-term basis.