September 11, 2007

by MMAWeekly.com
Pat Healy of the Nevada Lions will replace Tokyo Sabres’ fighter Antonio McKee in the welterweight division of the 2007 IFL World Grand Prix, the International Fight League announced today.

The semi-finals of the Grand Prix are scheduled to take place on Saturday, Nov. 3 at the Sears Centre in Chicago, with the finals slated for Saturday, Dec. 29 at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn.

“Antonio made a decision regarding competition for another organization that was unacceptable based on his contract with the IFL,” said Kurt Otto, IFL co-founder and commissioner. “We feel that in the best interests of the league, these actions preclude him from competing on the IFL World Grand Prix card. We are pleased that an outstanding athlete such as Pat Healy is prepared to step into the very competitive 170-lb. division.”

McKee posted an unbeaten record in regular season IFL competition before defeating Delson Heleno by split decision in the IFL World Championship semi-final round.

The IFL World Grand Prix will feature the top four athletes from the IFL regular season in each of five weight categories. The winner from each weight class will be crowned a world Grand Prix champion.

The updated rosters for the World Grand Prix Semifinals follow. Bout order will be determined prior to the Official Weigh-in on Nov. 2.

Lightweight (155 lb.)
No. 1 Wagnney Fabiano, Dragons vs. No. 4 John Gunderson, Lions
No. 2 Chris Horodecki, Anacondas vs. No. 3 Bart Palaszewski, Silverbacks
Alternate: Shad Lierley, Tiger Sharks

Welterweight (170 lb.)
No. 1 Delson Heleno, Pitbulls vs. No. 4 Pat Healy, Lions
No. 2 Jay Hieron, Anacondas vs. No. 3 Mark Miller, Red Bears
Alternate: Brad Blackburn, Tiger Sharks

Middleweight (185 lb.)
No. 1 Benji Radach, Anacondas vs. No. 4 Brent Beauparlant, Dragons
No. 2 Matt Horwich, Wolfpack vs. No. 3 Brian Foster, Razorclaws
Alternate: Fabio Leopoldo, Pitbulls

Light Heavyweight (205 lb.)
No. 1 Vladimir Matyushenko, Sabres vs. No. 4 Alex Schoenauer, Anacondas
No. 2 Mike Whitehead, Scorpions vs. No. 3 Mike Ciesnolevicz, Silverbacks
Alternate: Jamal Patterson, Pitbulls

Heavyweight (265 lb.)
No. 1 Ben Rothwell, Silverbacks vs. No. 4 Roy Nelson, Lions
No. 2 Antoine Jaoude, Condors vs. No. 3 Reese Andy, Tiger Sharks
Alternate: Bryan Vetell, Pitbulls