September 30, 2006

by Lee Whitehead – MMAWeekly.com, photos by Terry O’Reilly & Lee Whitehead

CLICK HERE to see the Pictures of Cage Rage 18

After a tough loss to Melvin Manhoef earlier this year, Ian Freeman returned to his winning ways with a victory over Mark Epstein at Cage Rage 18. The unanimous decision not only earned him the win, but Freeman also became the Cage Rage British Light Heavyweight Champion.

In other marquee action, Murilo “Ninja” Rua defeated Mark Weir with an arm triangle in the second round. Tony Fryklund did indeed have Alex Reid’s kryptonite, the heel hook which he applied early in the first round. Vitor “Shaolin” Ribeiro increased his win streak to six with a Kimura submission victory over Abdul Mohammed. Cage Rage veteran Dave Legeno earned his first victory by defeating Kimo Leopoldo by TKO in the first round.

Paul Daley defeated Sol Gilbert to retain the Cage Rage British Welterweight title and Robbie Olivier defeated Brad Pickett to become the new Cage Rage British Featherweight title holder.

Full Results

Ian Freeman def Mark Epstein via Unanimous Decision
Murilo Ninja Rua def Mark Weir via Arm Triangle Choke R2 1:15
Dave Legeno def Kimo Leopoldo via TKO R1 4:15
Rob Broughton def Robert Berry via KO 3:33 R1
Vitor Shaolin Ribeiro def Abdul Mohammed via Kimura R1 4:27
Tony Fryklund def Alex Reid via Heel Hook 1:32 R1
Mustapha Al-Turk def Henry Miller via TKO – Strikes R1 0:56 secs
Alexandre Lungu def Mark Buchanan via Keylock R1 1:55
Paul Daley def Sol Gilbert via KO 2:59 R2
Robbie Olivier def Brad Pickett via RNC R3 3:03
Xavier Foupa-Pokam def Alex Cook R1 4:45 Armbar
Zelg Galesic def James E-Nicolle via TKO – Strikes R1 2:02