The Dec. 31 bout between Kazuo Misaki and Yoshihiro Akiyama has been reviewed by the Yarennoka executive committee and ruled a no contest. Misaki had initially been awarded the victory.
According to the rules of the event, which were explained to the fighters prior to the event, it was illegal to kick a downed opponent that was in a four-point position. Upon review, Misaki’s kick to the head of Akiyama occurred while Akiyama was in such a position and thus illegal.
Although referee Daisuke Noguchi did not deem the technique illegal at the time it occurred, Yarennoka rules director Yuji Shimada stated that he would not be reprimanded due to the difficult nature of the call.