Press Release
Cage Warriors Return To Sheffield With “Showdown” On September 16th

The Cage Warriors Fighting Championships returns to Sheffield on the 16th September with a brand new show entitled “Showdown”. This new show will take place at the Octagon Centre which was the site of Sheffield’s first Mixed Martial Arts show back in September 2004.

Warrior Promotions (the same group who run the successful CW “Strike Force” shows in Coventry) hope to take MMA in Sheffield and Yorkshire to a new level with this new “Cage Warriors: Showdown” event and to start things off with a bang they have signed a Cage Warriors Lightweight World Title Bout between regaining Champion Alexandre “Xandinho” Izidro and Franco “Ortega” de Leonardis from Germany. Izidro makes his 3rd defence of his Title he won against Jani Lax last October. Izidro also has an extra incentive to defeat the talented German all rounder as he will win the CWFC Title outright if he is victorious.

The show also features former Cage Warriors Welterweight World Champion Dan “The Outlaw” Hardy take on the experienced Northern Cartel member Danny “The Smiling Assassin” Rushton in the main event of the evening. Other features bouts see the return of Ian “M-16” Butlin to Cage Warriors as he takes on the unbeaten Phil Raeburn, whilst Matt Ewin faces the Dutch based Brazilian Thiago “Jambo” Goncalves, and finally the other featured bout see Matt “12 Gauge” Thorpe return from injury to face Peter “Yamatodamashii” Angerer.

This 11 bout card also features a mix of UK and European talent battling it out inside the 32ft CWFC Octagonal Cage.

Cage Warriors: Showdown
Octagon Centre, Sheffield, UK
Saturday 16th September 2006
Doors Open 5.30pm – First Bout at 6.30pm

All bouts will be held under full Professional MMA Rules over 3×5 minute unless stated. Fightcard not in order and is subject to change

1. CWFC Lightweight World Title Bout (5×5 Minutes)
(Champion) Alexandre “Xandinho” Izidro (5-4-0) Ze Marcello Total Dojo
Franco “Ortega” de Leonardis (9-1-1) German Top Team

2. Welterweight
Dan “The Outlaw” Hardy (11-5-0-1nc) Rough House Gym
Danny “The Smiling Assassin” Rushton (4-4-0-1nc) Northern Cartel

3. Welterweight
Matt “12 Gauge” Thorpe (5-4-0) Northern Cartel
Peter “Yamatodamashii” Angerer (10-8-0) German Top Team.

4. Lightweight
Ian “M-16” Butlin (4-4-0) Northern Cartel
Phil Raeburn (2-0-0) House of Pain Wales

5. Middleweight
Thiago “Jambo” Goncalves (6-2-0) European Pro Team, Holland
Matt Ewin (14-7-1 1nc) Range Fighting

6. Middleweight
Karl Amoussou (1-0-1) Team Amoussou, France

7. Lightweight
Mick Sinclair (1-0-0) Wolfslair Academy/Bisping Total Fighting
Paul Cooper (1-1-0) Wakefield Submission

8. Middleweight
Marcelo Salazar (2-1-1) European Pro Team, Holland
Tom ‘Kong’ Watson (2 – 0 – 0) Gorilla Academy

B Class Pro Fights

All B Class Pro Fights will be held over 2×5 minute rounds under the old “CW Quest” rules in-which elbow strikes (Both standing and on the floor) and Heel Hooks are not permitted.

9. Middleweight
Matt Hasland (Pro Debut) Tap or Snap/Derby Shoot
Chris Taylor (0-1-0) Wakefield Submission

10. Middleweight
Tamai “Big T” Harding (Pro Debut) Rough House Gym,
Wesley Scarrett (Pro Debut) Neriagaru Ju-Jitsu, Wolverhampton

11. Lightweight
Kent “The Punisher” Cooper (Pro Debut) Brian Aiken Martial Arts
Spencer “The Specialist” Dummer (Pro Debut) Akins Academy/Pedro Bessa Jiu Jitsu (Wales)

Ticket Information

Standard Tickets £25 in advance (£30 on the door)
VIP Table £400 (Seats 7, includes wine, Buffet and Waitress Service

Tickets are available by
Calling +44 (0) 7957 644896

or at http://www.mmauniverse.com/events/SS3585

Tickets will cost £30 on the door