by Ricardo Mendoza – MMAWeekly.com
Cage Force has announced plans that it will hold a featherweight and a bantamweight tournament over the course of the year. It successfully held both a lightweight and a welterweight tournament in 2007 and looks to keep that momentum going into this year.

Several big names have been announced that are scheduled to compete in both tournaments with Shooto, Pancrase, DEEP and Cage Force veterans in each.

In the featherweight tournament, Shooto standouts Antonio Carvalho and “Wicky” Akiyo Nishiura are set to compete.

Carvalho comes off a stoppage loss to newly signed World Extreme Cagefighting athlete Hiroyuki Takaya at Shooto “Back to Our Roots 6,” while Nishiura drew with Joe Camacho at Shooto “The Arrival.”

DEEP veterans Jong Man Kim and Takeshi Yamazaki have also been signed to compete in the tournament.

Kim comes off a draw with King of Pancrase featherweight champion Yoshiro Maeda at a recent DEEP show in Osaka, while Yamazaki won a decision over Hero’s veteran Koji Yoshida at DEEP 32.

Other fighters scheduled to participate include No. 1 ranked Pancrase lightweight Yuji Hoshino, Australian standout Adrian Pang, Armando Sanchez and Daiki Ozaki.

Only four participants in the bantamweight tournament have been announced with four more left to fill out the field.

Shooto Featherweight 2005 Rookie Champion Takeya Mizugaki, British standout Paul McVeigh, Pancrase veteran Daichi Fujiwara and Hero’s veteran Taiyo Nakahara have all been announced to compete in the bantamweight tournament.

Cage Force also announced the initial card for its first event of the year, scheduled to take place at the Tokyo Differ Ariake on Feb. 11. Two featherweight bouts are slated to take place on this card.

Shooto Lightweight 2006 Rookie Champion “Wicky” Akiyo Nishiura faces off with DEEP veteran Jong Man Kim in the first featherweight tournament bout. In the other featherweight tournament bout, DEEP veteran Takeshi Yamazaki takes on Japanese newcomer Daiki Ozaki.

Cage Force
Tokyo Differ Ariake
February 11, 2008

Cage Force Featherweight Tournament Bouts:
“Wicky” Akiyo Nishiura vs. Jong Man Kim
Takeshi Yamazaki vs. Daiki Ozaki

Non-Tournament Bouts:
Taiyo Nakahara vs. Motonobu Tezuka
Tetsuo Seto vs. Toshinari Takahashi

Scheduled to Participate:
Hidetaka Monma
Mizuto Hirota
Yoshihiro Koyama