by Ricardo Mendoza – MMAWeekly.com

DEEP announced the first bouts for DEEP 28, also billed as their sixth anniversary show. In the main event, DEEP Middleweight Champion Ryo Chonan makes his first title defense against the man he won the title from Ryuta Sakurai. This a rematch of their first fight which ended prematurely due to Sakurai’s nose being broken. Sakurai has gone 2-0 in DEEP since their last fight, while Chonan has gone 1-1 in Pride since becoming champion. DEEP Lightweight Champion Nobuhiro Obiya makes his return to DEEP after an unsuccessful run in Pride Bushido going 0-2. Obiya will defend his title against #1 contender Kazunori Yokota, who is undefeated and is coming off an impressive win over fellow lightweight prospect Yoshihiro “Barbaro44” Tomioka at DEEP 27.

DEEP Welterweight Champion Jutaro Nakao defends his title against SK Absolute fighter Hidehiko Hasegawa, who is undefeated in his last five fights in DEEP. Its surprising that Hasegawa is getting a title shot instead of the more deserving Fabricio Monteiro, who is 2-0 in DEEP and one of those victories coming over Nakao at DEEP 26 by decision in a non-title bout.
Coming off a loss to DEEP Featherweight Champion Masakazu Imanari at DEEP 26, Takeshi Yamazaki takes on Pancrase veteran Miki Shida, who will be making his DEEP debut. Also scheduled to participate are DEEP Women’s Champion Hisae Watanabe and Team Grabaka fighter Eiji Ishikawa.

DEEP 28th Impact
Korakuen Hall
February 16, 2007

DEEP Middleweight Championship: Ryo Chonan vs. Ryuta Sakurai
DEEP Lightweight Championship: Nobuhiro Obiya vs. Kazunori Yokota
DEEP Welterweight Championship: Jutaro Nakao vs. Hidehiko Hasegawa
Takeshi Yamazaki vs. Miki Shida


Shooto has announced its initial bouts for its big show at the large Pacifico Yokohama in February. Due to Mitsuhiro Ishida vacating the Shooto Pacific Rim Welterweight Championship, a decision bout has been made to determine the new champion. Shooto 2005 Welterweight Rookie Champion Mizuto Hirota takes on veteran Takashi Nakakura to determine a new champion. Tenkei Fujimiya gets a second chance to become the Shooto Pacific Rim Lightweight Champion as he takes on Akitoshi Tamura in rematch of a fight that happened last year with Fujimiya knocking out Tamura in their first encounter. In an exciting welterweight showdown, former Shooto Pacific Rim Champion Koutetsu Boku takes on Kenichiro Togashi.

In other fights, Shooto Lightweight Champion “Lion” Takeshi Inoue takes on Hiroyuki Abe in a non-title fight in what is guaranteed to be an exciting slugfest. Two up and coming welterweights meet once again in a rematch from 2005 as PUREBRED fighter Ganjo Tentsuku takes on former Kiguchi Dojo fighter Yusuke Endo. Also scheduled to participate are Shooto Welterweight Champion Tatsuya Kawajiri and Shooto Middleweight Champion Shinya Aoki.

Shooto “Back To Our Roots”
Pacifico Yokohama Gymnasium
February 17, 2007

Shooto Pacific Rim Welterweight Championship: Mizuto Hirota vs. Takashi Nakakura
Shooto Pacific Rim Lightweight Championship: Tenkei Fujimiya vs. Akitoshi Tamura
Koutetsu Boku vs. Kenichiro Togashi
“Lion” Takeshi Inoue vs. Hiroyuki Abe
Ganjo Tentsuku vs. Yusukue Endo


GCM Cage Force has announced plans to hold two tournaments in 2007, a lightweight and welterweight tournament with the winners possibly getting into the UFC sometime later this year. The lightweight tournament is scheduled to participate on February 17th and the welterweight tournament on March 17th. Below is a list of expected participants in both tournaments.


Eiji Mitsuoka
Artur Oumakhanov
Wataru Takahashi
Takumi Nakayama
Wataru Miki
Jarkkp Latomaki
Yasunori Kanehara
Tomonari Kanomata
Jacob Sidic
Koutetsu Boku
British fighter from Cage Warriors
American fighter from Pangea


Katsuya Inoue
Akira Kikuchi
Janne Tulirinta
Yoshiyuki Yoshida
Justin Turtle
British fighter from Cage Warriors
American fighter from Pangea