Brazilian Commission Says Cortney Casey ‘Forged Injury’ from Illegal Kick

Claudia Gadelha won a unanimous decision over Cortney Casey at UFC Fight Night 100 on Saturday in Sao Paulo, Brazil. While the decision was clear-cut, the bout wasn’t without controversy. 

Though Gadelha was clearly winning the fight, she launched a kicked toward Casey’s head in the third round that, if it connected, would be deemed illegal. Casey was sitting on the canvas at the time the kick was launched.

It initially appeared as if the kick did major damage, as Casey stayed on the canvas for an extended length of time, looking as if she had been rocked by the kick. In viewing the replay, however, it appeared that the kick, at most, grazed Casey’s hair. 

That is how the Brazilian MMA Athletic Commission (CABMMA) also saw it, issuing a statement to MMAFighting.com that said Casey “forged the injury.”

RELATED > Darren Stewart’s UFC Sao Paulo Victory Overturned

“Because he kick didn’t land, the athlete forged the injury,” CABMMA COO Cristiano Sampaio said in a statement explaining why referee Fernando Portella had not deducted a point from Gadelha despite halting the action at the time the kick occurred.

“Had she not done that, and not used that time to her benefit and rest, he would have deducted the point. Had the kick landed, Claudia could get two points deducted or being disqualified. (Casey’s) conduct was wrong and unsportsmanlike, which could even be interpreted by the referee as she was giving up on the fight. The point was not deducted because of her attitude. It was an atypical situation and (the referee) acted correctly under our interpretation.”

(Video and photo courtesy of UFC on FOX | Viewing may be limited by broadcast rights restrictions)

Follow MMAWeekly.com on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram