World Extreme Cagefighting Finishes Year With WEC: Best of 2010 on Versus

December 23, 2010
Comments off

World Extreme Cafefighting ended a nine-and-a-half year run with WEC 53 on Dec. 16. The promotion, co-founded by Reed Harris and Scott Adams, is now being swallowed up by its gigantic sibling, the Ultimate Fighting Championship.

The WEC, particularly since it narrowed its focus on the bantamweight, featherweight, and lightweight divisions, has garnered a reputation for putting on exciting fights.

Leonard Garcia and Chan Sung Jung at WEC 48

Leonard Garcia and Chan Sung Jung at WEC 48

Closing out 2010 and its existence, World Extreme Cagefighting will take to the airwaves on Versus on Thursday night with WEC: Best of 2010, a two-hour program taking a look back on some of the promotion’s more popular fights from the year.

WEC: Best of 2010 airs at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET on Versus.

Included on the show are the following fights:

Chan Sung Jung vs. Leonard Garcia from April 24 – Coined “Fight of the Decade” by commentator Joe Rogan, “The Korean Zombie” and Garcia traded leather in three of the most exciting rounds in MMA history.

Ben Henderson vs. Anthony Pettis from Dec. 16 – This lightweight title fight at WEC 53, the final WEC event, featured a classic five-round war between champion Henderson and the exciting “Showtime” Pettis. The bout featured the debut of Pettis’ “Showtime” kick, a maneuver that still has mainstream media and fans reeling.

Mark Hominick vs. Yves Jabouin from June 20 – This outstanding featherweight fight featured Canadian rivals Hominick and Jabouin exchanging fire at a never-before-seen pace. Battling in WEC’s first-ever event in Canada, Hominick and Jabouin settled a score that dated back nearly a decade.

Scott Jorgensen vs. Brad Pickett from Aug. 18 – Undoubtedly the best bantamweight fight of 2010, Jorgensen and Pickett locked horns in a three-round fight for the ages.

WEC: Best of 2010 will also air on Dec. 26 at 11pm ET/8pm PT, Dec. 27 at 12am ET/9pm PT and Dec. 30 at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

Comments are closed.