UFC on Fuel 1: Sanchez vs. Ellenberger Official, Tickets on Sale This Week

January 5, 2012
6 Comments


The UFC has officially announced their first card for Fuel TV set to go down Feb 15 from Omaha, Neb. with tickets on sale for the event this week.

The card will be headlined by rising welterweight contender Jake Ellenberger as he faces former ‘Ultimate Fighter’ winner Diego Sanchez.

While he now trains full time in California, Ellenberger was born and raised in Nebraska and will obviously look to have hometown support behind him when he faces Sanchez in Feb.

“Sanchez has fought a lot of great fighters and he brings a lot of good tools to the table, but he won’t beat me,” Ellenberger said. “I’ve always prepared for the worst and hoped for the best. I always look to finish fights as fast as I can, just being prepared as I can. But I can see a TKO in the first or second round.”

Following a stint in the lightweight division that included a shot at the title, Diego Sanchez returned home to welterweight where he spent most of his career. Since that time, Sanchez has won 2 out of his last 3 bouts, and most recently picked up a decision win over Martin Kampmann last March.

A hand injury prevented Sanchez from coming back in Sept. against UFC Hall of Famer Matt Hughes, so now a very motivated fighter will return almost one year later to try and stop Ellenberger from his recent run of success.

“I am expecting an electric atmosphere for my fight against Jake Ellenberger in the UFC on Fuel TV card,” Sanchez said. “Not only is Omaha in the heart of some of the best wrestling in the U.S., but it is also Ellenberger’s home. I have never been more ready for a fight in my career. Fans are going to see a focused and well-rounded Diego Sanchez stepping into the Octagon. I promise they will like what they see.”

Also announced for the card are a pair of heavyweight match-ups for the broadcast. Heavy hitter Dave Herman meets 6’11” Dutch fighter Stefan Struve while undefeated prospects Stipe Miocic faces Phil DeFries.

In addition to the 3 hour broadcast that kicks off at 8pm ET/5pm PT on Fuel TV, the network will also air a one hour special pre-show at 7pm ET/4pm PT and a one hour post show that will air at 11pm ET/8pm PT.

Fuel TV will also air the weigh-ins for the event on Feb 14 at 5pm ET/2pm PT.

Tickets for the UFC on Fuel event will go on sale to the general public this Friday, Jan 6 at 10am CT with prices ranging from $150 down to $35. UFC newsletter subscribers will have special access to ticket sales starting at 10am CT on Jan 5.

  • judo johnson

    jake all day on this one

  • KBEsq

    Yeah, this fight is probably a bit lopsided on paper, but I like it a lot. Sanchez still has that toughness aspect that really impresses me. Although he lost, his fight w/ Penn impressed me because he got so beat up and was still prepared to move forward, even after nearly five rounds. The doctor literally had to stop the fight.

    I think Ellenberger will win, but I think this fight has upset potential. I wonder if Ellenberger is satisfied with the opponent, or thinks he should have gotten an opponent that is more highly regarded right now.

  • fitefan

    Ellenberger seems to be the favorite. It’s hard not to agree, but Sanchez is the kind of guy you can’t disregard easily. He will fight to the death. There is a possibility this could be fight of the night.

  • http://www.twitter.com/uncanny390 uncanny390

    Diego Sanchez is going to surprise alot of people in this one

  • RonnieV

    The winner of this fight should fight winner of Diaz/Condit.

  • fitefan

    I thought the winner of Diaz/condit was supposed to get GSP?