UFC Fight For The Troops 2 Prelims Live on Facebook

January 18, 2011
Comments off

UFC Fight for the Troops LogoThe Ultimate Fighting Championship has been a leader in the world of sports when it comes to marketing via social networking.

UFC president Dana White quickly embraced the timeliness and direct interaction of Twitter. He currently has more the 1,275,000 followers to his official Twitter account.

The UFC is testing some new waters in social networking with Saturday’s UFC Fight for the Troops 2, announcing that fans can watch two of the event’s preliminary bouts streaming live by clicking the “Like” button on Facebook.com/UFC.

“Ultimate Fighter” alum Cody McKenzie faces Yves Edwards in a lightweight clash and TUF welterweight DaMarques Johnson fights Mike Guymon on the live stream that begins Jan. 22 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

“I’m always looking for ways to give fans fights for free and this is just another example of that,” White said on Tuesday. “Facebook is such a great tool for people to stay connected and we’re excited to put two live fights on our UFC page for free.”

The UFC Fight for the Troops 2 main card airs live on Spike TV at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. Evan Dunham and Melvin Guillard clash in the lightweight headline bout.

In conjunction with UFC Fight for the Troops 2, the UFC is hosting an online auction that will raise funds for the brave men and women in the United States Armed Forces with traumatic brain injuries. Prizes include the chance to attend the premiere of season eight of the hit show Entourage, as well as the chance to meet Philadelphia Phillies centerfield Shane Victorino and attend a Major League Baseball game as his guest. For more information on the available prizes, please visit: www.fightforthetroops.com. The deadline for bids is Monday, Jan. 24.


Follow MMAWeekly.com on Twitter and Facebook.

Comments are closed.