Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone


Posted on by MMAWeekly.com Staff

by MMAWeekly.com
The fighter salary information for UFC 82, which took place on Saturday, March 1 at the Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio, was made available on Monday.

The following figures are based on the fighter salary information that promoters are required by law to submit to the state athletic commissions, including the winners’ bonuses.

Although MMA fighters do not have collective bargaining or a union, the fighters’ salaries are still public record, just as with every other major sport in the United States. Any undisclosed bonuses that a promoter also pays its fighters (specifically pay-per-view bonuses, fight of the night bonuses, etc.) are not included in the figures below.

The following fighters received a $60,000 bonus from the UFC for the awards noted: Anderson Silva (Submission of the Night and Fight of the Night for a total of $120,000), Dan Henderson (Fight of the Night with Anderson Silva), and Chris Leben (Knockout of the Night).

In the listings below, ” Main Event Fighters” are defined as fighters who compete in the main event of a show. “Main Card Fighters” are defined as fighters whose fights appear on the main card, but not in title fights or in the main event. “Preliminary Match Fighters” are defined as fighters whose matches take place before the live broadcast goes on the air, regardless of whether or not those matches end up airing on the TV broadcast.


-Anderson Silva: $140,000 (defeated Dan Henderson; win bonus was $70,000)

-Dan Henderson: $100,000 (lost to Anderson Silva; win bonus would have been $150,000)


-Heath Herring: $140,000 (defeated Cheick Kongo; win bonus was $70,000)

-Jon Fitch: $60,000 (defeated Chris Wilson; win bonus was $30,000)

-Chris Leben: $50,000 (defeated Alessio Sakara; win bonus was $25,000)

-Cheick Kongo: $30,000 (lost to Heath Herring; win bonus would have been $30,000)

-Yushin Okami: $28,000 (defeated Evan Tanner; win bonus was $14,000)

-Evan Tanner: $25,000 (lost to Yushin Okami; win bonus would have been $25,000)

-Alessio Sakara: $17,000 (lost to Chris Leben; win bonus would have been $17,000)

-Chris Wilson: $12,000 (lost to Jon Fitch; win bonus would have been $12,000)


-Andrei Arlovski: $170,000 (defeated Jake O’Brien; win bonus was $65,000)

-Diego Sanchez: $60,000 (defeated David Bielkheden; win bonus was $30,000)

-Josh Koscheck: $20,000 (defeated Dustin Hazelett; win bonus was $10,000)

-Luigi Fioravanti: $16,000 (defeated Luke Cummo; win bonus was $8,000)

-Luke Cummo: $16,000 (lost to Luigi Fioravanti; win bonus would have been $16,000)

-Jorge Gurgel: $14,000 (defeated John Halverson; win bonus was $7,000)

-Dustin Hazelett: $12,000 (lost to Josh Koscheck; win bonus would have been $12,000)

-Jake O’Brien: $11,000 (lost to Andrei Arlovski; win bonus would have been $11,000)

-David Bielkheden: $8,000 (lost to Diego Sanchez; win bonus would have been $8,000)

-John Halverson: $3,000 (lost to Jorge Gurgel; win bonus would have been $3,000)


Click Login To Post A Comment Login