Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

UPDATED: UFC 127 Prelimaniry Bouts Added To ION, In Addition To Facebook

Posted on by MMAWeekly.com Staff

The Ultimate Fighting Championship has been utilizing several different outlets recently to deliver more and more fights to fans that aren’t able to make it to live events.

The promotion recently re-upped with Spike TV to carry 12 UFC Prelims Live events during 2011. But with 30-plus events throughout the year, that leaves several opportunities to provide preliminary bouts via other sources.

Two UFC 127 bouts – Anthony Perosh vs. Tom Blackledge and Jason Reinhardt vs. Tiequan Zhang – will stream live on Facebook, but the promotion didn’t stop there.

When Spike didn’t pick up the opportunity to air preliminary bouts from UFC 125 on Jan. 1, UFC president Dana White turned to broadcast network Ion Television to air three bouts. He once again will go with Ion for UFC 127 from Australia, again airing three bouts on the network.

Ion will carry the three UFC 127 preliminary bouts leading up to the pay-per-view broadcast. Light heavyweight James Te Huna will fight Alexander Gustafsson, “Ultimate Fighter Season 9″ winner Ross Pearson battles  Spencer Fisher at lightweight, and Nick Ring locks horns with Riki Fukuda in a middleweight contest.

The UFC 127 Prelims on Ion Television will begin at 6 p.m. PT / 9 p.m. ET. The preliminary bouts streaming on the UFC’s Facebook page will begin at 5 p.m. PT / 8 p.m. ET.

(UPDATED at 2:15 p.m. PT on Feb. 22, 2011 to reflect three UFC 127 preliminary bouts on ION Television.)

Click Login To Post A Comment Login