– SPIKE TV TO AIR UFC 116 WEIGH-INS LIVE

by Damon Martin – MMAWeekly.com
As UFC 116 fast approaches this weekend, Spike TV has announced that they will carry the upcoming weigh-ins for the Las Vegas show this Friday, July 2 starting at 7pm ET/4pm PT.

This will be the first time the UFC has broadcast their weigh-ins on Spike TV. The main event for UFC 116 pits the returning heavyweight champion Brock Lesnar against his biggest opposition to date in fellow mammoth heavyweight Shane Carwin.

Also confirmed by Spike officials on Monday was a previously reported report about a chance to the Spike prelims card for UFC 116 as the “Kimbo Killer” himself, Seth Petruzelli returns to the UFC to face AMA Fight Club fighter and former Ring of Combat champion Ricardo Romero.

The Petruzelli vs. Romero fight takes the place of the originally scheduled bout between Kendall Grove and Goran Reljic, which was pulled in no small part due to Grove’s openly harsh comments about Spike TV and the “Ultimate Fighter” reality show.

Grove later issued an apology, but Spike TV officials along with the UFC already decided to make the change.

Spike TV could also air additional preliminary fights on the Saturday night card if time permits.

The preliminary show for the Spike TV broadcast for the fights at UFC 116 will begin at 9pm ET/6pm PT on Saturday night, July 3.