Spike TV Counter Programming UFC on FX 1

January 13, 2012
Comments off

The recent split between the UFC and Spike TV after several years of working together was anything but amicable. The UFC signed a seven-year exclusive broadcasting agreement with the Fox family of networks, leaving Spike TV behind.

Spike TV, however, has the rights to a library of UFC content until the end of 2012. The network has plans to takeover Bellator programming, but can’t do so until 2013 or they forfeit the rights to the UFC content.

In the meantime, Spike is utilizing its UFC library to counter program much of the promotion’s new programming on Fox, FX, and Fuel TV.

The latest salvo in the war comes next week when the MMA juggernaut launches UFC on FX 1: Guillard vs. Miller. Spike in turn is countering the UFC’s live debut on FX with a marathon of programming centered around Melvin Guillard, who faces Jim Miller in the UFC on FX main event.

UFC Unleashed: Melvin Guillard begins at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on Spike TV and rolls on until Midnight ET/9 p.m. PT.

UFC on FX 1: Guillard vs. Miller airs live on FX beginning at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT with the preliminary bouts live on Fuel TV at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.


For more UFC News and UFC Rumors, follow MMAWeekly.com on Twitter and Facebook.

  • http://www.bloodyfists.net/forums/index.php SHORT_BUS

    meh

  • fitefan

    Well, the last program that went across Spike was reported as being it’s 13, with a contract for 12 only. It was stated that the UFC and Spike were getting along amicably ( T think the same word was used ) and allowed Spike to air the prelims.
    Now less than two weeks later it’s not amicable?

    And that’s not much of a “salvo”. It it’s a “marathon” it’ll have to start sometime before the fight airs on FX, which is just goning to offer some nice backround fights before we all change the channel to FX.

    Spike would do better to air all of the most recent UFC fights it has on hand for the whole month of Jan. Then pick up Bellator and actively work together to promote it heavily against the UFC and SF.

    The more succesful the UFC is in developing MMA in the US, the more demand there will be to see it. And a greater increase in the amount of people desiring to fight for a living. The don’t really have much of a chance to run a monopoly on it.