Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

- MMA ICONS COUTURE & WHITE DUEL IT OUT

Posted on by MMAWeekly.com Staff

by MMAWeekly.com


content="Randy Couture resigned from any and all positions with the Ultimate Fighting Championship">




Randy Couture resigned from any and all positions with the Ultimate<br /> Fighting Championship

Randy
Couture resigned from any and all positions with the Ultimate Fighting
Championship. The promotion’s president, Dana White, denies that it is a
resignation and insists that Couture has retired.

 

The war of
words between the two has only escalated since the former heavyweight
champion’s Oct. 11 announcement. Today, they take it up another notch with
competing press conferences.

 

Couture has
a media event scheduled at his Xtreme Couture gym in Las Vegas. He is expected
to “respond to the comments made by UFC President Dana White” and “to a Yahoo!
Sports report that he makes between $3.25 million-$3.75 million per fight.”

 

The UFC,
meanwhile, has a conference call scheduled to announce a new television deal
and to “discuss upcoming mega-fights.” The conference call is slated to include
White, newly signed UFC fighter Brock Lesnar, and Chuck Liddell and Wanderlei
Silva, who were announced to fight on the promotion’s Dec. 29 event.

 

The battle
starts at 1:00 p.m. PT/4:00 p.m. ET when the UFC begins a live stream of its
conference call on
href="http://sports.yahoo.com/mma;_ylt=AqcFUPWRPXPPRo0MsGSgtSg5nYcB"> style='font-family:Arial'>Yahoo! Sports style='font-size:10.0pt;font-family:Arial'>.

 

Then, at
1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET, Couture’s press conference begins with a live stream
on
style='font-family:Arial'>ProElite.com and live television coverage with a special edition
of Inside MMA on HDNet.

 

Note:
MMAWeekly.com is a content partner with Yahoo! Sports.

 

Click Login To Post A Comment Login