- JONES INITIALLY UPSET, BUT TAKES DQ LOSS IN STRIDE

December 6, 2009
No Comments

by Damon Martin – MMAWeekly.com
xmlns:w="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:word"
xmlns:m="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2004/12/omml"
xmlns="http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40">








His record is no longer unblemished, but Jon
"Bones" Jones isn’t crying foul, and he’s not upset at the decision
to disqualify him for illegal elbows that helped bring about the end of his
fight against Matt Hamill.  Like
pretty much everything Jones does in the cage, he was flawless in his attitude
about the loss following the event.

 

"I’m not worried about that," href="http://videos.mmaweekly.com/view_player.php?id=3320">Jones said about the
decision to disqualify him. 

"Hopefully, my manager can take care of all that stuff. style="mso-spacerun: yes">  Definitely took a lot of pride in being
undefeated, and so proud of being a martial artist, strive so hard to be the
best that I can be.  Everything
happens for a reason."

 

An undefeated record is definitely something to work for,
but Jones admitted that it also provided a fair amount of pressure and now that
has been lifted.  Still, he was a
little confused at referee Steve Mazzagatti’s
decision to not stop the fight earlier.

 

"I think at 14, 15 unanswered punches, it should be
stopped," Jones commented. 
"I said it so many interviews that I respect Hamill a lot for the
inspiration that he is, and it was awkward to just keep hitting him like
that.  I was like let’s stop this,
but what are you going to do?

 

"I hit him so many times, and I just wasn’t understanding
why it wasn’t getting stopped.  Is
he waiting for me to gas or something? 

I was like what is this?  I
looked at him twice, I was like ‘why am I still hitting this guy?’"

 

Regardless, the fight was allowed to continue and it was
Jones’ "12-to-6" elbow strikes that caused the referee to originally
step in and pause the fight to deduct a point from the Jackson’s team
fighter.  When Hamill was obviously
hurt, Mazzagatti called for the fight to be stopped.

 

Following the stoppage, Nevada State Athletic Commission
Executive Director Keith Kizer stepped in and looked
at the footage and helped make the official call for the fight.

 

"This was actually the first time instant replay was
used in Nevada, looked at it, obviously a lot of damage was done by legal
blows, but there was also damage done by the illegal elbows, and obviously as
you know if there’s any contributory effect of the illegal blows,
disqualification’s the call," Kizer said.

 

Kizer also clarified the cries for a no
contest after he explained the only time a no contest would be the ruling is if
the blows that brought about the end of the fight were accidental. style="mso-spacerun: yes"> 
Because the elbows were intentional,
Jones was disqualified.

 

Keeping a positive attitude following the bout, at first
Jones was taken back by the call, but he’s looking forward to another shot in
the Octagon and is happy with life in general and that’s what matters most to
him.

 

"I thought I won. When they said I lost I was like ‘no
this can’t be happening,’ but I lost."

 

(Click
here to watch Jon Jones’ Ultimate Fighter finale post-fight video interview.)

 

Comments are closed.