Hacran Dias vs. Rodrigo Damm UFC Fight Night 29 Bout Scrapped Over Kidney Concerns

October 7, 2013
2 Comments

Rodrigo DammWhile UFC officials have been steadily adding bouts to upcoming fight cards, they had to remove one over the weekend.

Hacran Dias vs. Rodrigo Damm had been scheduled to headline the UFC Fight Night 29 preliminary bouts on Wednesday’s fight card in Brazil. Damm suffered some unforeseen medical issues that forced the bout to be scrapped.

According to Damm, doctors declined to clear him to fight due to some concern about his kidneys.

UFC Fight Night 29 moves forward on Wednesday at the Jose Correa Gymnasium in Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil, with 10 bouts on the card.

A five-round welterweight bout between Demian Maia and Jake Shields headlines the event.

Due to the lesser number of bouts, the entire UFC Fight Night 29 event will air on Fox Sports 1 in the United States. The four-fight preliminary broadcast begins at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT, while the six-bout main card begins at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT.

Be sure to Like MMAWeekly.com on Facebook and Follow @MMAWeeklycom on Twitter.

  • Mark McDowall

    Weight cutting issues again…I have a feeling this is going to start coming up more and more often!

    • bverb

      He would have seen the doc before beginning the weight cut for his medicals. More likely his past known PED abuse has caught up to some of his organs. See it all the time in my CCTC