- FSN FEATURES IFL ON SUNDAY NIGHT

September 20, 2006
Comments off

Press Release
Fox Sports Net to Air First International Fight League World Team Championship Sunday, Sept. 24

Anacondas vs. Sabres Portland Event Highlights Hour-Long Coverage

NEW YORK, September 20, 2006 – Fox Sports Net (FSN) will broadcast the first of 10 hours of International Fight League (IFL) coverage on Sunday, September 24 at 6 p.m. local time. Sunday’s action will include the IFL World Team Championship quarterfinal matchup between the Anacondas, coached by Bas Rutten and based in Los Angeles, and the Sabres, based in Tokyo and mentored by Antonio Inoki. The bout was contested on Saturday, Sept. 9, in Portland, Oregon.

The Superfight held that night between IFL Wolfpack coach Matt Lindland and MMA veteran Jeremy Horn, along with several other bouts, will air on the next broadcast on Oct. 1. The next night, Monday, Oct. 2, a special two-hour prime-time edition of “Best Damn Sports Show Period” will feature the Pat Miletich vs. Renzo Gracie Superfight, as well as the battle between the teams they coach: Miletich’s Silverbacks, based in Quad Cities, and Gracie’s Pitbulls, who train in New York.

FSN also aired three hours of the IFL Legends Championship earlier this year. The IFL, the world’s first mixed martial arts league in a team format, will launch its first full season in the first quarter of 2007.

The fall IFL broadcast schedule on FOX Sports Net will be:
(all times p.m.)

Sunday, September 24 – 6:00*
Sunday, October 1 – 6:00**
Monday, October 2 – 8:00 (Best Damn Sports Show Period, Two Hour special)
Sunday, October 8 – 6:00*
Sunday, November 12 – 6:00**
Sunday, November 19 – 6:00***
Sunday, November 26 – 6:00***
Sunday, December 31 – 6:00 (Two hour championship finals show)****

*- Featuring matches from Sept. 9 Portland, Ore. Quarterfinal event
**- Featuring matches from Sept. 23 Quad Cities, Ill. Quarterfinal event
***- Featuring matches for November Semifinal event (site TBD)
****- Final event at site TBD

SEE MMAWEEKLY.COM’s MMA TELEVISION GUIDE FOR REPLAY DATES AND TIMES

Comments are closed.